State of Origin History Last 5 Years

The first game of State of Origin is fast approaching. As huge fans of the sport, you might want to take a peek at the history of the events. Here is the State of Origin History last 5 years.

State of Origin History Last 5 Years


Queensland and New South Wales meet for the 40th time in a State of Origin series in 2021. Queensland has won 22 series, New South Wales has won 15, and two have been tied.

The Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville was chosen to host the opening game due of a COVID-19 outbreak in Melbourne. Game 2 was held at Suncorp Stadium in line with the scheduled schedule. Due to COVID-19, Game 3 was rescheduled from Sydney’s Stadium Australia to Newcastle’s McDonald Jones Stadium and subsequently to the Gold Coast’s Cbus Super Stadium.

The venues in Townsville and the Gold Coast were the first to host the series solely inside one state.

The NSW Blues swept the 2021 State of Origin series, winning all three games by a combined score of 50-6, 26-0, and 18-20.

In the eleventh minute, NSW’s Latrell Mitchell scored a try.

In the 68th minute, NSW’s Apisai Koroisau scored a touchdown.

The final score was Maroons 20, Blues 18.


The 39th best-of-three series between New South Wales and Queensland took place in 2020. The series has been won 21 times by Queensland and lost 15 times by New South Wales.

The series was relocated to November and played on consecutive Wednesday evenings because to the COVID-19 pandemic.

November 4, 11, and 18, have been set for the dates of the game.

The opening match was only played outside of Sydney, Brisbane, or Melbourne three times.
Dean Ritchie of the Daily Telegraph describes Queensland’s team as “the weakest Maroons ever.” Queensland defeated New South Wales in the season series 2 to 1.

Queensland was declared the winner.

Valentine Holmes of Queensland scored the game’s opening try in the third minute.

The Blues scored 14 points while the Maroons scored 29.

Queensland’s Xavier Coates opened the scoring against the Blues early on. The next stop was in New South Wales (NSW).Cody Walker, James Tedesco, and Josh Addo Carr all contributed to the Maroons’ poor defense, which allowed the home team to lead 18-4 at the half. In the second round, Jack Wighton and Daniel Tupou threw more blows.

Josh Papalii of Queensland scored late, but Addo-second Carr’s goal was enough to secure the win.


The Queensland-New South Wales best-of-three series was played for the 38th time in 2019. Queensland had won 21 games, NSW had won 14, and two games had been drawn.
The second time Game 2 was played outside of Sydney, Brisbane, or Melbourne occurred at Optus Stadium in Perth.

Thanks to a late score by James Tedesco, the NSW Blues overcame Queensland 26-20 in Game 3 of the 2019 State of Origin series.

Following an 18-14 loss in Game 1 in Brisbane, the Blues cruised to a 38-6 victory in Game 2 in Perth. Tedesco was named the series’ most valuable player.
Both sides put on a show in their final State of Origin match that will be remembered for decades.

Although Felise Kaufusi and Paul Vaughan scored scores for Queensland and New South Wales, respectively, the Blues won in the second half.

Queensland scored two touchdowns, one each from James Tedesco and Damien Cook.

Ethan Lowe’s first-ever conversion and tries by Josh McGuire and Josh Papalii tied the game.
New South Wales won the series decider thanks to James Tedesco’s goal.


NSW won 2-1. Queensland and New South Wales played for the 37th time in a best-of-three series in 2018. Queensland and New South Wales now have 21 victories apiece. It was NSW’s first series victory since 2014, and their second in a series’ first two games since 2005. Kevin Walters captained Queensland for a third season, and Brad Fittler took over as head coach after Laurie Daley quit in November 2017.


QLD has a two-goal advantage.

Queensland and New South Wales played a three-game series in 2017. Queensland had won 20 games, New South Wales had won 13, and there had been two draws. Queensland won this year’s match 2-1.

Each team has a 1-0 record after two games. Game Three was won by Queensland, 22-6, at Suncorp Stadium.

Kevin Walters takes over as head coach again after leading Queensland to victory in 2016. Laurie Daley is in his sixth season as head coach of the New South Wales Blues.

Queensland wins again, their third in a row and eleventh in a row. For the first time in at least 20 years, New South Wales stayed on the same side throughout the series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *