The New South Wales Rugby League Team (NSW)

New South Wales

What is the New South Wales Rugby League Team?

The New South Wales rugby league team is a rugby league football team that has been representing the Australian state of New South Wales since the year of 1907. The uniforms of the team are mainly two colors, sky blue, and navy blue, but white is also a color that is used in their uniforms. The team is known as The New South Wales Blues (NSW) because of their sky blue and navy blue uniforms.

The New South Wales Blues became a rugby league team before the Australian national rugby team (Known as the Kangaroos and established in 1908).The home games of the New South Wales Blues are held at the ANZ stadium, located in Sydney, Australia.

Who is Coaching the NSW?

Tommy Raudonikis was the first captain of the NSW, he even coached the NSWB in the 1997 and 1998 Origin Series. Recently, Laurie Daley, a professional rugby league football player himself in the 1980s and 1990s, was the coach for the NSW from 2013-2017.

Daley was terminated due to the fact that he had only led the NSWB to win 1 of the 5 series they played. In the year of 2018, the NSW appointed Laurie Daley’s replacement, Brad Fittler as their new coach. Brad Fittler, nicknamed Freddy, is a former professional rugby league football player that was named one of the finest players in the sport.

What’s the History of the NSW?

Their first game ever played was against the New Zealand national rugby team league (better known as the Kiwis) in 1907. The team has been competing in the Annual State of Origin Series with their competitor the Queensland Maroons, both competing to win the State of Origin Shield.

The Annual State of Origin Series is a competition held yearly, the State of Origin Shield is won by winning the best of 3 games in the rugby league series. The biggest win of the team was obtained in the year of 1957, they competed against Queensland Maroons and had the final score of 69-5. The biggest defeat the team has had was in the year of 2015, the Queensland Maroons were their competitors in this game as well, final score being 52-6.

Although the NWS team dominated their all time rival the Queensland Maroons, their domination of Queensland came to an end in the early 1980s when the new “state of origin” rules came into play. The two teams have played a total of 38 series in the State of Origin Series, Queensland was the victor for 21 of those series, while NSWB only was victorious in 15 of them.

Who are Some of the NSW’s Greatest Players?

The NSW named 25 rugby league football players for each year leading up to their 25-year celebration in 2005. Some of the players named were Tim Brasher, Laurie Daley, Brad Fittler, Andrew Johns, Glenn Lazarus, Wayne Pearce, Steve Roach, Ian Roberts, Peter Sterling, Geoff Toovey, and Rod Wishart.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *